And the winner is……..

Ghana's hitman Asamoah Gyan (left) and Ivory Coast's striker Didier Drogba (right)

FIFA has released nominees for 2010 world player award.  Chelsea’s and Ivory Coast’s no-nonsense striker Didier Drogba, Cameroon’s most decorated African player of all time, Samuel Eto’o and Ghana’s hitman Asamoah Gyan of Sunderland are among the nominees. Surprisingly, there are no English nominees, neither is Luis Suarez of Uraguay

Samuel Eto'o of Cameroon

World Player of the Year nominees: Xabi Alonso (Spain), Daniel Alves (Brazil), Iker Casillas (Spain), Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal), Didier Drogba (Ivory Coast), Samuel Eto’o (Cameroon), Cesc Fabregas (Spain), Diego Forlan (Uruguay), Asamoah Gyan (Ghana), Andres Iniesta (Spain), Julio Cesar (Brazil), Miroslav Klose (Germany), Philipp Lahm (Germany), Maicon (Brazil), Lionel Messi (Argentina), Thomas Muller (Germany), Mesut Ozil (Germany), Carles Puyol (Spain), Arjen Robben (Holland), Bastian Schweinsteiger (Germany), Wesley Sneijder (Holland), David Villa (Spain) and Xavi (Spain).

World coach of the year nominees: Carlo Ancelotti (Chelsea), Vicente del Bosque (Spain), Sir Alex Ferguson (Manchester United), Pep Guardiola (FC Barcelona), Joachim Loew (Germany), Jose Mourinho (Inter Milan/Real Madrid), Oscar Tabarez (Uruguay), Louis Van Gaal (Bayern Munich), Bert van Marwijk (Holland) and Arsene Wenger (Arsenal).

The winners will be revealed in Zurich on 10 January.


One Reply to “And the winner is……..”

  1. My pick is Asamoah gyan. The guy has shown so much stregth under the most difficult circumstances, at least he should get the african player of the year.

Comments are closed.